Awards & Scholarship Info


BEA Film 48

October 25-26, 2019 

#BEAfilm48 — Unleash your creativity for a 48-hour film festival!

BEA Student Media Club members have unending energy, extreme talent and a passion for media.  To test your club’s creativity and resolve, we offer a 48-hour film festival exclusive to BEA Student Media Club members.  Club members must sign up by Friday, October 18th, and the competition takes place the weekend of October 25-26.  Winning team members will have their work showcased at BEA2020 and receive complimentary convention registrations.

Questions?: Email


BEA Festival of Media Arts

Only works completed after December 15th, 2017 are eligible for submission.

The specifics are found under the dropdown menu for student submissions. There is an overall list of rules student submissions will fall under. 

Categories for Students:
Interactive Media & Emerging Technologies
Film & Video
Two-year/small colleges.

Submission Period: November 15th – December 15th


College Television Awards – The Emmy Awards

The College Television Awards recognize excellence in student production. In addition to showcasing student production, the College Television Awards is an entry point for a career in television and media. There are over 600 College Television Award alumni, all of whom have access to networking opportunities and events.

40th College Television Awards Calendar

August 1, 2018 – July 31, 2019
Eligibility Period

September 5, 2019
Online Entry System Opens for Submissions

October 3, 2019, 5:00 PM PDT
Online Entry Period Deadline

October 22, 2019 – November 15, 2019

November 27, 2019
Promotional Materials Due

December 11, 2019
Nominations Announced

March 19-21, 2020
College Television Awards Summit and Ceremony

*Subject to change



Florida Associated Press Broadcasters

The FAPB Broadcast Excellence Award is granted to students exhibiting excellence in broadcasting through Florida Associated Press stations. Specific guidelines can be found on the sites official rules page.

Categories and Length of Submissions:
Best TV Newscast: Up to 1 hour
Best Radio Newscast: Up to 15 minutes
Best Breaking News: Coverage of an unplanned single event on one day or stretching over a series of consecutive days. Up to 5 minutes
Best Breaking News Video (Television only): Video coverage ONLY of an unplanned single event on one day or stretching over a series of consecutive days. Up to 5 minutes
Best Sports: One story or series of reports. Up to 5 minutes
Best Use of Sound (Radio Only): Up to 5 minutes
Best Short Light Feature: Up to 3 minutes for TV and 90 seconds for radio
Best Long Light Feature: Up to 15 minutes for both radio and TV
Best Short Hard News Feature: Up to 90 seconds for radio and 3 minutes for TV
Best Long Hard News Feature: Up to 15 minutes for both TV and radio
Best Photo Essay: Can include natural sound and/or voice. Up to 15 minutes


The Green Eyeshade Awards

Since 1950, The Green Eyeshades have recognized the very best journalism in the southeastern United States – which now includes print, television, radio, and online. For each category, send links to three of your best clips – from print or online, from any student or professional media outlet based in the Southern United States.

Best News Reporter in the South: News coverage on any single topic or multiple topics, on or off campus.
Best Feature Writer in the South: Can include features on any topic, from sports profiles to first-person immersion pieces.
Best Sports Writer in the South: Can include columns, game stories, features, and profiles.
Best Columnist in the South: Opinions can encompass sports, news, feature, and humor.
Best Photographer in the South: Three shots of anything, from sports to news to feature to entertainment. Note: Submissions must include cutlines.
Best Designer in the South: Single pages, spreads, special issues, covers, photo stories, etc.


Radio Television Digital News Association Student Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. One Student Murrow Award will be awarded to an individual or team of individuals in each of five categories. Entries are judged on the national level and winners are recognized at the annual RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala in New York City.

Excellence in Audio Newscast
Excellence in Audio Reporting
Excellence in Video Newscast
Excellence in Video Reporting
Excellence in Digital Reporting


Society of Professional Journalists Florida Student Awards

Students whose work was published in in Florida in the previous calendar year are eligible. This may include work submitted to professional publications as well as long as the student produced it.

College Journalist of the Year
Best Student Publication
Best Website
Best News Story
Best News Photo
Best Feature Story
Best Profile
Best Review
Best Sports Story
Best Sports Photo
Best Opinion Column
Best Page Design
Best Video
Best Multimedia Feature
Best Coverage of LGBT Issues
Best Coverage of Race and Minorities
Best Disaster Reporting


The Telly Awards

The Telly Awards annually showcases the best work created within television and across video, for all screens. There is a two-year window of eligibility for the telly competition.

The competition is open to the following types of entries (please see list of categories for complete listings):

Commercials & Marketing
Non-Broadcast Video
Series, Shows, and Segments
Branded Content
Social Video


NPAA Contests

The NPPA is the leading voice advocating for the work of visual journalists today. Founded in the days of sheet film box cameras and newsreels, our organization fights for the working news photographer, videographer and multimedia journalist in the Internet age. Our Code of Ethics stands for the highest integrity in visual storytelling. Our advocacy efforts put NPPA in the center of today’s thorniest issues of journalists’ rights to do their work — and to earn a living from their craft. Our ongoing education initiatives seek to equip our members and prepare the emerging generation of visual journalists in the face of an ever-changing media landscape. In light of these challenges, the work of NPPA has never been more vital than it is today.

Best of Photojournalism
Monthly News Clip Contest
Quarterly Multimedia Contest
Quarterly Picture Editing Contest
Northern Short Course Photo & Multimedia Contest
Student Quarterly Clip Contest
TV Quarterly


Asian American Journalists Association

The Asian American Journalists Association (AAJA) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit educational and professional organization with more than 1,500 members across the United States and Asia. Since its founding, AAJA has been at the forefront of change in the journalism industry.




You can apply for a variety of scholarships under through the BEA sites. For more details about an individual category click on the categories name below.

Electronic Media Class standing preference is given to one or more of these awards

Radio–  No restrictions or preference 

Media Technology and Innovation– Current sophomores, juniors, seniors and graduate students can apply

Broadcast History– Graduate students only

National Association of Black Journalists – Undergraduate or graduate

The Association of LGBTQ Journalists (NLGJA) – Undergraduate or graduate

Deadlines vary per scholarship.